Curbed: Cooper Hewitt Announces 2017 National Design Awards Winners

The awards celebrate excellence and innovation in different segments of the design industry.

Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum has officially announced the winners of its 2017 National Design Awards.

According to Curbed, the awards recognize excellence and innovation in design in 11 different categories. And Cooper Hewitt says that the program, which is now in its 18th year, “celebrates design as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world, and seeks to increase national awareness of design by educating the public and promoting excellence, innovation, and lasting achievement.”

Hartmut Esslinger, the German-American designer behind Frog Design and the “Snow White design language,” was given the lifetime achievement award. Other notable winners include the Boston, Massachusetts-based design collaborative Mass Design Group, which won the architecture design award, and Deborah Berke Partners, which received the top honor for interior design.

Click here to read the original article and check out the full list of winners.